related issues

EUROCITIES members to participate in Mayors Adapt twinning programme

  • environment

A total of 22 cities from 11 EU countries have been selected to take part in the Mayors Adapt city twinning programme.

Over the summer Mayors Adapt, the Covenant of Mayors initiative on urban adaptation to climate change, launched an online call for participation in its city twinning programme. It has now selected 22 cities from 11 EU countries to participate, chosen from a total of 45 applications. 

Of these successful cities, 13 are EUROCITIES members: Antwerp, Barcelona, Belfast, Bologna, Copenhagen, Edinburgh, Florence, Glasgow, Lisbon, Munich, Newcastle, Prague and Stockholm. 

Mnetor and learning cities have been identified and matched according to their climate and geographical characteristics, socioeconomic and institutional specificities, and adaptation knowledge. The learning municipality will travel to the mentor municipality to understand how the mentor is tackling climate hazards. 

The visits will take place between spring and autumn 2016. More information on the programme will be available in the coming months. In the meantime, please visit for the latest information on the initiative.