related issues

related events

Apply for the Second European Capital of Innovation Award

  • knowledge society

Apply from July for the second European Capital of Innovation Award, offering a total of over €1 million to three winning cities. EUROCITIES members can participate to the online webinar explaining the features of the award.

Following the success of the first European Capital of Innovation Award 2013-14, the European Commission is launching a second and more ambitious edition this July.

Three winning cities will receive over €1 million in prize money between them: €950,000 for the first prize winner; €100,000 for the second; and €50,000 for the third. The first prize winner will be awarded the title of European Capital of Innovation.

The award will continue to celebrate the European city that is building the best innovation ecosystem, with a view to helping the city scale up its eff orts to connect citizens, public organisations, academia and business in innovative ways.

Last year, EUROCITIES member Barcelona was selected out of 58 applicant cities from all over Europe. The city was recognised for introducing the use of new technologies to bring the city closer to citizens, and was awarded €500,000 to expand this initiative further. The runners up were Grenoble and Groningen. This year’s award is open to cities from member states and countries associated with Horizon 2020, the EU’s research and innovation programme.

Cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants can apply until 18 November, and the winning cities will be selected by a panel of experts in early 2016. Applicants will be judged on the basis of initiatives that they have implemented since January 2012, as well as their ambitions to enhance their innovative capacity in future.

On the 9 July 2015 the European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation Carlos Moedas will launch the second European Capital of Innovation Prize contest at the Committee of Regions Plenary Assembly.

On the same day from 15:00 to 16:00 the European Commission is organising an info-session for potential applicants, to provide technical support and information on how to participate in the competition. You can register via email by 26 June 2015 to the following address:

On 10 July, from 10.30, Giuseppe Ruotolo, from DG Research & Innovation - B1 Innovation Union Policy will present the new European Capital of Innovation award to EUROCITIES members.

For registration contact

For more information on the award, click here

EUROCITIES staff contact

Anja Katalin De Cunto