EUROCITIES Brussels office

The network is headquartered in the Brussels office, which is currently headed by Anna Lisa Boni, secretary general. 

The Brussels office carries out policy, project, human resources, finance, administration and communications work.

executive committee 

An executive committee, made up of twelve elected representatives, manages the business of the organisation. This is currently led by Johanna Rolland, mayor of Nantes and president of EUROCITIES. 

The executive committee meets at least three times a year and oversees our annual work programme, internal rules and budget, as approved by the annual general meeting (AGM).

Our current executive committee is comprised of the following members:

  • Johanna Rolland, mayor of Nantes (president)
  • Daniël Termont, mayor of Ghent (vice-president)
  • Albert Bore, leader of Birmingham City Council (treasurer)
  • Burkhard Jung, mayor of Leipzig (secretary)
  • Ada Colau, mayor of Barcelona
  • Giuliano Pisapia, mayor of Milan
  • Ahmed Aboutaleb, mayor of Rotterdam
  • Karin Wanngård, mayor of Stockholm
  • Piero Fassino, mayor of Turin
  • Michael Häupl, mayor of Vienna
  • Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz, mayor of Warsaw 

annual conference

Important decisions relating to the network are made at the annual general meeting (AGM), which is held during our annual conference. Each member city is represented at the meeting.

The 2016 annual conference will take place in Milan on 16-18 November 2016 (more info here). 

forums and working groups

Our day-to-day work is conducted through six thematic forums and a number of related working groups in which our members can participate. Forums monitor developments in specific policy areas, addressing issues and coordinating activities. They also set up and monitor working groups, and draft EUROCITIES position papers. Each forum meets two to three times each year and elects its own chair and vice chair.

The executive committee also has working groups on cross-cutting themes such as governance, neighbourhood policy and public services.

Click here for an overview of our forum and working group structure.